Route To Human Rights in The Camino Primitivo, Spain

Routes to Human Rights

The Route to Human Rights in the Primitive Way, created by International Solidarity for Human Rights (ISHR) in collaboration with Where is Asturias, has a twofold purpose and mission: to create awareness about the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR) and its 30 human rights along the 14 stages, 320 kilometers, and 2 Spanish Regions of the Primitive Way, and to promote education about the UDHR among students in schools located along the Primitive Way.

To achieve this, the project installed works of art representing each of the 30 human rights proclaimed in the UDHR, creating a visual and meaningful experience for pilgrims and travelers who visit the Camino de Santiago. Moreover, the project seeks to engage local schools and students in the learning and dissemination of human rights, using the Camino as a living classroom and experiential learning platform. Through this educational initiative, the project aims to promote a culture of human rights and dignity among future generations, fostering empathy, respect, and a sense of responsibility for promoting justice and equality.

Click in the image below to know more about the Route events and inauguration:



September 1st, 2022, The Route to Human Rights in the Primitive Way was inaugurated in the Auditorium Principe Felipe of the city of Oviedo, Asturias in Spain.

The Route to Human Rights in the Primitive Way is an initiative created by International Solidarity for Human Rights and the collaboration of Where is Asturias, with the objective of promoting fundamental human rights such as equality, freedom, respect, education, food, and justice among pilgrims, travelers, and citizens through the Camino de Santiago.

The Camino de Santiago, particularly its Primitive Way itinerary, has received several accolades, including being designated as the European Union’s first cultural itinerary and main street, and winning the Prince of Asturias Award for Concord. In 2015, UNESCO declared the Camino de Santiago’s Primitive Way itinerary a World Heritage Site, and the European Council of the European Economic Community designated the Camino de Santiago the “European Cultural Route,” referring to it as “the Street of Europe.” The Route to Human Rights in the Primitive Way aims to raise awareness among those who travel the Camino de Santiago about the importance of human rights and their promotion.

The project has the collaboration of the City Council of Oviedo, as well as the Asturian municipalities of Grado, Salas, Tineo, Allande, Grandas de Salime in Asturias, and the Galician municipalities of A Fonsagrada, Baleira, Castroverde, Lugo, Guntín, Melide, Arzúa, O Pino and Santiago de Compostela.

The Route to Human Rights on the Primitive Way is “a fascinating journey gestated over 1,200 years of history”, in which, through the centuries, millions of pilgrims have promoted “values inherent to the rights and freedoms of individuals, which are associated with the Universal Declaration of Human Rights”.

The Camino de Santiago has a rich history that spans over 1,200 years, and it has been traveled by millions of pilgrims who have promoted values that are associated with human rights and freedoms. The pilgrimage has long been considered a journey of personal and spiritual growth, where individuals seek to find meaning and purpose in their lives. Along the way, pilgrims encounter diverse cultures, traditions, and people, fostering a sense of empathy, understanding, and respect for others. Moreover, the Camino has served as a platform for promoting social justice, human dignity, and equality. For instance, in the Middle Ages, hospitals and shelters were established along the route to assist and protect pilgrims who were often vulnerable to disease, violence, and poverty. In more recent times, the Camino has also become a platform for promoting environmental sustainability, intercultural dialogue, and peaceful coexistence. In this way, the Route to Human Rights in the Primitive Way builds on the Camino’s legacy of promoting values and principles that are essential for human flourishing and dignity.

More than 300 people responded to the invitation to the inaugural event: Oviedo City Council, Authorities of the Principality of Asturias and the Xunta de Galicia, mayors and councilors of the two communities, members of NGOs, business and cultural associations, associations of friends of the Camino de Santiago, all friends; International pianist Isabel Pérez Dobarro, who fascinated the audience with her concert and dazzled us with her speech; Devorah Sasha for her magnificent interpretation of the Human Rights Anthem “A perfect world, composed specially for the occasion by Pablo Manavello, international recognized music artist.


If you listen to “Perfect World” you will be supporting

International Solidarity for Human Rights


ISHR Advisory Board: Dr.Carlos E. Sardi – Dee Anne Treadway – Ileana Suarez – Jose Antonio Cisneros MD- Karem Alsina – Maria Elena Useche – Marisol Barboza – Olga Ortiz Mera – Raiza Perrault – Tibi Ellis – Wilma Bulkin Siegel, MD.

Regions of Spain: Principality of Asturias and The Autonomous Community of Galicia.

Mayors: Wenceslao López Martínez – José Luís Trabanco González – Sergio Hidalgo – José Ramón Feito Lorences – José Antonio Mesa Pieiga – Eustaquio Revilla Villegas – Carlos López López – Xosé María Arias – Lara Méndez López – María José Gómez Rodríguez – José Manuel Pérez Penas – José Luis García López – Manuel Taboada Vigo – Xosé Antonio Sánchez Bugallo.

Councils/Concellos: Ayuntamiento de Oviedo – Ayuntamiento de Grado – Ayuntamiento de Salas – Ayuntamiento de Tineo – Ayuntamiento de Pola de Allande – Ayuntamiento de Grandas de Salime – Concello de A Fonsagrada – Concello de Castroverde – Concello de Lugo – Concello de Guntín – Concello de Melide – Concello de Arzúa – Concello de O Pino – Concello de Santiago de Compostela.

Click in the map to see the places where the conmemorative plaques were placed in the

Primitive Way of The Camino de Santiago, in the regions of Asturias and Galicia- Spain

Click in the map to see where the plaques are located.